Detert, Robinson, Wells, Others Elected Unopposed



Nancy Detert won a seat on the Sarasota County Commission. Eric Robinson won a spot on the Sarasota County School Board. Rick Wells was just elected as Manatee County Sheriff. Ron Turner just won as Sarasota Supervisor of Elections. John Colon won a seat on the Manatee County School Board. Angel Colonneso was just elected as Manatee County Clerk of Court.  One thing all had in common? They did it without garnering a single vote.

The qualification period ended today at noon, and those candidates were the only ones to file for the seats they seek. Colon and Colonneso both were appointed to their seats to serve out the remainder of incumbents’ terms following untimely deaths. Colonneso was appointed last last July after long-time Clerk of Court Chips Shores sudden death, while Colon was appointed in September to replace Mary Cantrell, who died less than a year into her term. 

But several heavyweight candidates managed to win office unopposed without the benefit of incumbency. Detert announced earlier this year she would vacate her Senate seat to run for an open seat on the Sarasota County Commission. Robinson filed to challenge incumbent Frank Kovach, but Kovach chose not to seek re-election and no other challengers stuck it out through qualification. Wells was hired last year to the No. 2 position at the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office, and was ultimately the only candidate who filed to succeed sitting Sheriff Brad Steube. Turner, previously the DeSoto County Supervisor of Elections, also serves as sitting Supervisor of Elections Kathy Dent’s right-hand, and was the only person who filed to succeed her.

Several incumbents were also re-elected, including: Manatee Supervisor of Elections Mike Bennett, Manatee County Judge Doug Henderson, Manatee Tax Collector Ken Burton, Sarasota Sheriff Tom Knight, Sarasota Property Appraiser Bill Furst, Sarasota County Commissioner Charles Hines, Public Defender Larry Eger, State Attorney Ed Brodsky, state Rep. Jim Boyd, state Sen. Bill Galvano, and Sarasota County Judges Phyllis Galen, MaryAnn Boehm and Erika Quartermaine.

Pictured: Sarasota County Commissioner-elect Nancy Detert.

« View The Monday Jun 27, 2016 SRQ Daily Edition
« Back To SRQ Daily Archive

Other Articles in Politics

Mar 6, 2018Jacob Ogles

Pilon to File Today in District 72