SMH Honors Two, Appoints Officers to Med Exec Committee



Sarasota Memorial Hospital’s medical staff honored two physicians for outstanding service to the hospital and the community and installed its new leaders for 2018-2019. Sarasota Nephrologist Domenick E. Cover, MD, was awarded the health system’s 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award, while Emergency Medicine Specialist Reuben Holland, MD, was named 2018 Physician of the Year. Both were selected by a committee of physician leaders. Cover was honored for his commitment to his patients and the community he has served for more than 30 years. Among other meaningful contributions, he was instrumental in developing dialysis services in the community and beginning the continuous dialysis program at SMH. Holland was named 2018 Physician of the Year. Colleagues praised his leadership as he chaired some of the hospital’s busiest and most challenging medical committees, while also serving as medical director of SMH’s Emergency and Urgent Care Centers since 2011. 

The SMH Medical Staff also appointed officers of the 2018-2019 Medical Executive Committee: Joey Seaman, MD, was named chief of staff, serving as the top representative of Sarasota Memorial’s more than 1,300 medical staff members and advanced practice providers. Alissa Shulman, MD, was named chief of staff elect, while Jeffrey Sell, MD, was named secretary-treasurer, and Sean Daley, MD, and Scott Perrin, MD, were named members-at-large.

Sarasota Memorial Hospital

« View The Tuesday Oct 30, 2018 SRQ Daily Edition
« Back To SRQ Daily Archive

Other Articles in Healthcare

Aug 12, 2019Firmo Construction Continues to Expand with New Projects in Southern Florida

Firmo Construction Continues to Expand with New Projects in Southern Florida