Celebrating Gulf Coast homes in the region that articulate superlative architecture and design form and function, from the integrity of the space to the design process. Home of the Year brings these incredibly stunning residential spaces to life—from seaside to street-side, inside and out, these exemplars of the local built environment contribute to the impressive legacy of award-winning architecture. Each year, judges from around the country jury homes submitted by home builders, architects, landscape architects and interior designers to award the Home of the Year Platinum, Gold and Silver Awards. The winning entries are published in the March 2020 awards edition of SRQ Magazine.

Entry Materials  Click to download the Entry Materials for the 2020 Competition.

Sponsorship  If you are interested in gaining exposure to the region's top architects, designers, craftsmen and contributors, become a sponsor of the Home of the Year Program which includes influential multi-platform visiblity including print and digital, content marketing, logo display and remarks on stage at the Home of the Year Awards Ceremony in February of 2020. Click below to request additional information.


All design work must have been completed between January 2017 and December 2019 to be eligible. Entries must exist in the geographic region of Sarasota, Bradenton and the barrier islands from, and including, Boca Grande to Anna Maria Island and Palmetto. Work completed in other areas is not eligible. Entrants may submit as many projects as they wish as separate entries.


A. Overall Home Over $2 Million


B. Overall Home Between $1-$2 Million


C. Overall Home Under $1 Million


D. Overall Interior Design


E. Kitchen


F. Bathroom


G. Remodel/Renovation


H. Landscape Design/Pool/Outdoors


I. Sustainability/Green



A panel of qualified judges selected from the professional areas of home design, architecture and interior design from regions outside the geographic area of this competition shall determine the a platinum, gold and silver winner in each category. In the event of a tie, both entrants will receive awards. If any winner is disqualified or forfeits to claim the award, no replacement award shall be given. All decisions are final.


All finalists will be notified with an invitation to the official SRQ Home of the Year awards ceremony.Platinum, gold and silver winners will be announced and recognized at the awards ceremony. The awards ceremony will be held at the end of February 2020.

Last Year's Competition Awards
Click here, to view the 2019 Home of the Year Competition Awards Special Section.

Event Photos



For competition inquiries, please contact Ariel Chates at SRQ Magazine at 941-365-7702 x219.

For all other inquiries

Contact Us