Tahiti Park neighborhood leader Jennifer Ahearn-Koch, former prosecutor Hagen Brody and Gulf Business Systems owner Martin Hyde came out on top in a Sarasota City Commission race Tuesday and will advance to a May 9 runoff. Incumbent Sarasota City Commissioner Susan Chapman and four others were eliminated in the contest.


Eight candidates sought two at-large seats on the Sarasota City Commission. The two top vote-getters in the runoff will win the seats. Other candidates eliminated Tuesday include: former Sarasota Mayor Fredd "Glossie" Atkins; Planning Board member Patrick Gannon; pedestrian safety advocate Mikael Sandstrom and former stockbroker Matt Sperling.