Sarasota Performing Arts Center Architect Selection Task Force Announcement

Arts & Culture

Van Wezel Foundation and the City of Sarasota are pleased to announce the community members who will serve on the architect selection task force for the Sarasota Performing Arts Center. The five distinguished members of the task force bring a breadth of experience, passion, and a commitment to realizing the promise of this transformative project for Sarasota and the region. The task force will be chaired by Dr. Jenne K. Britell, Vice Chair Van Wezel Foundation Board of Directors. Dr. Britell has been an acclaimed director and trustee of public companies and private organizations for over 20 years, following an international career as a senior officer of several financial institutions, including GE Capital, and Chairman of United Rentals. The task force includes Mary Bensel, Executive Director of The Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall and member of the Broadway League and Florida Presenters; Mark Famiglio, co-founder of Sarasota Film Festival, a 50-year Sarasotan, and investor in the development and growth of many of Sarasota’s neighborhoods; Michele Hooper, CEO of the Directors Council and highly regarded governance expert and business leader recently named to Forbes 50/50 Women Making an Impact; and Dr. Larry R. Thompson, long-time President of Ringling College of Art and Design who successfully led the creation of the Sarasota Art Museum and served as the founding executive director of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum. The RFP will be issued by the City through their BidSync public system to attract national interest from a broad and diverse number of respondents. The architect selection process is estimated to take six months and will be funded through an appropriation from the State of Florida. The meetings of the task force will be open to the public and the selection process will culminate in a short list of finalists who will come to Sarasota to present their qualifications.  The orientation meeting of the architect selection task force will take place on October 31, 2022.

« View The Tuesday Oct 25, 2022 SRQ Daily Edition
« Back To SRQ Daily Archive

Read More

Overall Home Over $4 Million Gold Winner Bay Isle Home by DSDG Architects

Home of the Year Gold Winner Bay Isle Home by DSDG Architects

Feb 29, 2024

Overall Home Over $4 Million Platinum Winner Blackburn Bay Home by Sweet Sparkman

Overall Home Platinum Winner Blackburn Bay Home by Sweet Sparkman

Feb 28, 2024

2024 Home of the Year Celebrated at SmartHouse Integration

2024 Home of the Year Celebrated at SmartHouse Integration

Barbie Heit | Feb 26, 2024

Resilient Design

Resilient Design

Kate Wight | Feb 1, 2024